Note to New Members ×

Recommended stance width for a big guy

Geof Harries

I'm 193 cm (6'3") and weigh 88 kg (195 lbs). I've been snowboarding since 1987.

In 2010, I bought a F2 Speedster RS 183 cm. The board was well-priced and in good condition, but it's always been a little bit too much board for me (stiff, very unforgiving). That's okay though, I can handle it. What's mostly bothered me though is the stance width.

At present, the stance is maxed out: I have it at 50 cm (19.7") which is the widest it will go. It feels like I need about another 2.5 cm (1") between the bindings to get more control over the board.

So my question is: What are people riding these days for stance widths?

In the past it was all narrow and knees tucked in, but watching videos on here it seems like wider stances are more normal now. Also, people seem to be riding further up on their boards; the F2 I have really sticks me in the backseat.

Geof

2010-f2-speedster-rs-183.jpg

Edited by Geof Harries

personally, I always recommend ad-hoc width as of lower-leg length - distance between floor (barefooted) and knee rotation axis, as a basis. usually it is around 50cm for girls ~165cm height and men ~180cm. then you can personally adjust - for more carvy ride it can be narrower, and wider for general freeride with some freestyly tweaks

and - leg length may differ between men of equal height, so go measure. generally I think 50cm for yout 193cm is rather narrow stance - not bad for freecarving, but for racing and such you can go higher to 52..54 IMHO

• Like 1

I'm 182cm (6'0") with longer than average legs. I used to ride 50cm but have moved out to 54-56cm over the last 2 seasons.

From your photo you look like you could push your rear binding back a cm or so. 

Feeling like you're in the back seat is probably more of a technique issue if your bindings are equally spread between the binding insert pattern the builder created on the board.