Note to New Members ×

What happened to alpine/race boarding?

sealcove

I have been boarding at some level since 1986, and rode hard boots and alpine boards 90% of the time from 1993 to about 2001.  During that stint in the 90's I was teaching boarding full time each winter, but after that, work and life changes moved me away from it and I had not touched it until last Friday (no boarding for 14+ years).  I went to a small local hill and had a great time!  It was hero snow, which helped, but it was like I had never stopped riding and I will try to get out from time to time now that I have the bug again.

Question, what happened to alpine riding during my 14 year hiatus?  Other skiers and even boarders were looking at me and asking questions about my rig like I was an alien.  Quite a few riders wanted to know if that was some kind of new setup!  When I got home, a quick web search revealed that more mainstream companies had long since dropped the discipline.  Looks like what is out there now has progressed nicely, but is probably too costly to attract many new riders.

So what happened?  I know alpine/race was always a small subset, but it must have really taken a nosedive, which is too bad.  If it were not for alpine boarding, I would be on skis!

Here is a shot from Friday.  My 44 year old body can still arc turns!  That is a 1999 Factory Prime 173 (almost new still) with Bomber bindings.  I forget what those boots are.  

Ride%2B%28Medium%29.jpg

Edited by sealcove

Welcome back, lots of design improvements, look into it, decambered tip/tail, carbon, metal, the performance is incredible. As far as popularity, alpine boards are still not mass produced (like in China) and hung on shelves in Ski/snowboard stores, So the general public has never laid there eyes on one , or the boots or bindings either. You stopped close to when I started. Rob in NH