Note to New Members ×

Who is a Certified Instructor

Guest Matt D

Sup to all on BOL

I'm just wondering who on here is or was a certified snowboard instructor.

Some optional info you could give, would be what certifications you have, and what level. How many years? Who certified you (organization)?

So I am a Certified Instructor, in Canada,and I am certified by CASI (Canadian Association of Snowboard Instructors). I have my Level 3 course completed but am not a fully certified 3 until I get my Level 1 Freestyle. I also have a level 1 Alpine Coach, and I'm a level 1 Evaluator.

This will be my 5th season riding/5th season teaching, an I aspire to be a Professional Snowboarding Coach.

Matt

Guest alpine168

4th season riding

1st season teaching.

I got a gig at Chicopee this season because it right close to my day job.

:D Can't wipe goofy grin off my face because first run coming soon, and it gonna rock.

I am an AASI level III from Ski Roundtop, PA. I have been teaching since 1996. Of course, the important thing is that I took the LII and LIII exams on F2 Speedsters, Bomber bindings, and UPS Mach RSV's. I would encourage anyone else to do the same (alpine setup, that is). I believe that it was a good way to have diversity in the exams.

It was important to show that such a setup was optimal for the freestyle tasks at hand. (right?)

It is good to hear from you guys north of the border.

I did my CASI Level I last season with Alpine168, and we had a Jolly good time.

I took the course on my Renntiger. It was a little trickier to do some of the teaching demonstrations in the hard setup. If I were going to actually teach I'd need to get a softie setup, and so I don't really expect to teach much either. It was an excellent way to refine my own riding.