Note to New Members ×

Cost And Value Of A Custom Snowboard

carvingchef

I have seen a few posts lately talking about the true cost of an alpine snowboard or cost of material or cost of buying a custom snowboard so I would like to give a new or maybe just a different perspective of cost and value

I am a chef, a good chef if I may say so, I have been cooking for 32 years and I like to think I know what I’m doing, during the course of my career I have been doing numerous private dinners for people in their own house, the price for the dinner can be moderately expensive to extremely expensive depending on the menu and the ingredients,

regardless of the menu for me to go cook at someone’s house I need to make at least $300.00 (cash in my pocket) usually more but for less than $ 300.00 I won’t do it, it’s not worth it, I would rather stay home and play videogames with my son, some people might think that $300.00 is a lot or even too much money but that’s my fee, that pays for my time knowledge and experience

when we discuss the menu the host doesn’t know exactly how much money goes in my pocket or how much the ingredients cost, he or she knows what they are getting and what the total cost for the dinner is, if they need a server I call a friend and usually the server fee is $ 150.00 for the night (about 3 hours of work, suddenly $300.00 for the chef doesn’t sound like so much anymore) when people sit down for a couple of hours and enjoy their dinner they don’t know and they don’t think about what was involved to make it happen, they just know if they like it or not and a nice gourmet dinner takes a lot of planning and preparation not to mention that the ingredients I need are not readily available at the local supermarket around the corner so there is also some driving all over town involved