Note to New Members ×

snowboard hard boots on skis?

ride247

I cram my Deeluxes into ski bindings just to ski with my kids. I have to reach down and pull up the heel lever. It's sketchy, but I have released appropriately. I wouldn't do it to ski aggressively at all. I think if anything the combination is more prone to release than not, but YMMV.

I've mounted my new twin tip atomic stomps with old solomon driver toes specifically so that I can adjust the height & width of the toe piece to fit my sb hardshells. Without adjusting the toe, the DIN release mechanism will be preloaded.

don't try this at home I'm a non professional and would not ski aggressively in heavy snow in sb boots.

The issues are

having to engage the heel by hand,

softer toe/heel pads & lateral flex makes edging wide skis more difficult,

non DIN toe & heel do not engage the binding as they're designed negating to some extent the release settings,

I have been skiing in sb boots for years but ski carefully when doing so and have not put myself in a situation to release. Being an accomplished skier with a very centered style helps me get away with using sb boots with little worries.

I have demoed 110 waisted icelantic shamans in 3buckle Raichles but did not have the lateral stiffness to edge them effectively.

My atomics are 186 x 88 and though not fat by today's standards it's a lot of ski to drive with the softer engagement & flex of non-DIN boots.

All that said I wish SB hardshells had DIN shaped toes and that Fin would build DINtech stepin heels.

You can use a plate type binding and use your snowboard boots on skis. You have NO release mechanism of course. Keep in mind, most snowboard hard boots are softer than most ski boots and they have more forward lean. That can of course be altered. Use at your own risk. I have used short skis with my snowboard boots. Having the 5 position adjusters help, stand the uppers up as straight as you can.