Note to New Members ×

santa fe / albequerque

ajcannon

I've been looking at relocating to the santa fe / albequerque area...was wondering if any one felt like offering their insights on snowboarding, jobs, housing, or anything else. I'm a structural engineer guy currently looking for jobs out there. My wife is an elementary school principle. The weather and high property taxes have got me down in Iowa.

Is the climate as nice as it seems out there? I spent a week in Taos a few years back during late March and I thought it was amazing (ski taos then drive around in a jeep with the top down in 70 degree weather - go hiking, etc). That's how it was the one time we were out there. Any thoughts would be be appreciated. -Adam

Hey, Adam.... surprised to see you posting here! My .02 ? Go for it! I was out in ABQ for a week this summer visiting my son. We went up the tram to the top of Sandia. At the bottom afterwards we met a group of hang glider pilots loading to take the tram up. What's not to love? Hang gliding whenever, skiing winter, desert, etc.

You going to be doing any riding at Sundown or Chestnut this season?

Yeah...I had a partnership that kind of didn't work out the way I would have liked...so now I am taking some time to get things sorted out. I'm between jobs so if you want to head up to Sundown sometime I am available. I could pick you up in CR. We will be in Florida 12/26 - 1/2, but other than that I am game. Shoot me an email whenever. I got a new titanium board last year that is real nice. Let go up there soon. -Adam

I've been to Santa Fe numerous times and really enjoyed it each time. Ski Santa Fe is not nearly as large as Taos but is only ~20 minutes outside of town and has open mid-week runs. Lots of nice slopes... only negative a few too many moguls for my taste. I've heard the weekends are crowded but I've never been on the weekend.

Oh and I love the food or the region. Yum!