Note to New Members ×

Board and Boot Recommendation?

AK in PA

The Oldest Equipment thread got me thinking about new gear again. I've been riding since '90, took somewhat of a hiatus for a few years, but have been getting back into it again. My delaminating PJ and oversized, delapidated boots really need to be replaced. For the last year, I've poured over Bomber and the Carver's Almanac. If I were to spring for new equipment right now, I'd go with TD2 step in's without hesitation. I like their simple, yet bombproof design. (My old Burton raceplates give me enough fits when I have to remove them to retighten the cant plate.)

I don't have a clue what I should get in the way of boots, though. I've been riding in an oversized pair of Blax/Dalbello boots for years. My feet have almost pulled out of them in the middle of a carve more often than I care to remember, even though I have them jury-shimmed to death. I've had the buckles replaced more times than I can count. I just measured my foot @ 10.25" heel to big toe; times 2.54 cm/in that puts me at a hair over 26.0 mondo. (My current boot liners are marked 27.5-28.5.) I have wide feet and ALWAYS have a tough time finding footwear wide enough and/or with a boxy enough toe to fit me.

Boardwise, I've kind of had my heart set on 175-ish Donek or Coiler, but I'm open to suggestions. I'm 5' 6.5" and weigh around 180#. I only ride narrowish, eastern resorts. My PJ excels in tight turns at moderate speeds, but I have folded the nose up in softer snow, the edge slips out on ice, and it doesn't handle fast GS turns on steep runs as well as I'd like. So, I want something that can handle bigger GS turns better and can hold an edge on ice (so common here), and won't fold up when I'm fortunate enough to ride on something that resembles actual snow. I like the lively feel of my PJ, but would I be better served with something damp for ice?