Note to New Members ×

Help with crossover

Guest Necro

Hi,

I am looking for some advice moving to a hardboot rig. I have been snowboarding for about 10 years, For a number of years I was getting in 60-70 day seasons, but I moved away from the mountains for the last 5 years. I am moving back to the hills this winter and am considering a hard boot setup.

I have pretty bad tendonitis in my left (front) ankle from snowboarding, so it collapses under me from time to time. I also have bone spurs on the insteps of both my feet from soft boot straps, so I am looking to ease some of this pain.

My riding style tries to be fast & smooth. I like the steeps, shooting chutes, straightruns, like to hike for it & don't care too much about jumping. Springtime finds me bombing groomers. I do a moderate amount of backcountry powder as well, though my ankle can handle that sort of condition with soft boots.

So... My gear is pretty old. I am trying to make the decision between a modern, stiff softboot setup and a more alpine rig. I unfortunately do not have the cash for both this year. Is there a nice all-around setup you would recommend. Am I going to be bummed on powder days? Please help!

Oh, I am living in tahoe, so we are talking heavy cement snow if that matters.

I ride both soft and hard boots, and find hard boots are great fun in powder once you get used to it.

You can get some fabulous deals on hard boots right now at the Bomber store. Look at the 423 or the LeMans... $150 - $180, and they are good for both carving and freeriding. Both come with ThermoFlex liners which is going to be important considering your issues with your feet. I sprained my left/front ankle badly in March, and it's still somewhere better than 90% but not 100%, so I'm hoping for the best this season!