Note to New Members ×

New carver needs binding advice

Tick

Hi. I have been carving for a couple of years. I won't say that I'm very good at it, but I'm learning as I go. Up to now, I've used traditional boots and bindings, so my carving leaves room for improvement. I want to make the transition to hard boots and bindings, but don't want to drop big $$ for a setup. I have some ski boots that I want to use for now. Anybody got recomendations for a good, cost-effective type of binding to look at?

I think a used set of Catek World Cup (not Olympic) would work great for ski boots (under $100). They come in short plate and long plate, so get the right size. Size 9 and up would be long plate.

You might want to buy some Raichle 413's and a set of X-bones. Snowboard boots are stronger for carving than ski boots.

good luck,

Hugh

David,

These guys are correct, we HIGHLY do not recommend starting out with ski boots. Not saying you cannot do it, but they are extremely stiff in comparison to a snowboard hardboot and will make the learning curve "rough" to say the least.

Obviously I might be bias as I sell hardboots ;) but we have seen people "try" alpine snowboarding with ski boots, get bucked like a bronco, and swear to never do it again.

Let me know if you have any other question on boot selection,

I'm a crossover skier who learned how to carve on ski boots. It is possible, but it is much easier and your progress will be faster with snowboard specific boots.

If you do go with ski boots (And you are fit) you might have the most luck setting very high stance angles. A friend of mine still uses ski boots, and he is most successful at angles between 65-70 degrees.(Maxed-out on TD1 bombers, I think.)

Guest AlpentalRider