Note to New Members ×

more board ?'s from a newbie

ncapriot

I am a newbie to the site and would first like to say thank you to all of the great feedback that I have recieved thus far...I also subscribe to a vintage triumph motorcycle discussion group and it is like night and day between the two....

Am I correct in assuming that pretty much any board can be ridden with plates? I started getting into the whole hardboot thing during my last year of riding and I really loved it. I was no expert, but was definitely a competent carver. I am heading to snowbird and must admit that I am freking out a bit about riding in deeper snow on my current ride, which is a very old Rossi Accelerator..it is in mint condition, plenty of camber, etc, but I have never ridden it in deep snow. I also have a lib tech pacifier that is pretty stiff and 163 in length. Am I foolish to think that I will be able to ride this board in powder with hard boots? I am nervous that I the shear weight difference between hard and soft boots might make me submarine or sink. I am also concerned that I might damage the board if I really try to lay down some carves on groomers.

Any input would be greatly appreciated..even if it is to tell me to "just do it" and stop being such a cry baby..

I've never ridden either of those boards so can't speak to their on or off piste performance, but just wanted to note on the "sheer weight" issue that the weight difference between you, your hardboots, your plates and your board, is probably minimal in relation to softies. You have to think that going through pow YOU are by far the heaviest component!

I also have a lib tech pacifier that is pretty stiff and 163 in length. Am I foolish to think that I will be able to ride this board in powder with hard boots?

Agreed that the additional weight of the boots/plates won't be an issue.