Note to New Members ×

Bomber's new mill

Jack M

Nice place you have there Fin and nice gear. Makes me long for a job in mechanical engineering (which I have a diploma in). I was stuck last year in a computer tech support job last year, and now I have a possibility of having another job with the same company doing technical support on a big automated pharmacy (pneumatics & PLCs controlled by a computer).

BTW, nice specs on the machine. Do you do your canting plates on one of those with a jig or do you use a 4 axis CNC?

Derf

Originally posted by Derf

BTW, nice specs on the machine. Do you do your canting plates on one of those with a jig or do you use a 4 axis CNC?

Derf

My mistake, did not read the comment saying it had a 4th axis, only read the specs on Fadal's webpage.

Derf

Originally posted by fin

Why is that? Wadaya want to make?

A number of things :) I am going to need some uprights CNC'd probably about a year from now, but that's pretty far down the road. How about a pair of TDs made from Ti? Or a set of Al molds to make some CF parts from? I would wear out the tooling before I ran out of stupid little things to make :)

What software package do you use for modeling?

• 2 weeks later...

Its funny, when I first bought one of these Fadals I had visions of making everything out of billet. My apartmernt would have super trick billet door knobs, my bike would be one big billet work of art, and so on. Fact of the matter is, tools like this give you this ability but it still demands a huge amount of energy, planning, and programming to do it.

To be honest, what I tell people is to just keep an eye out and get yourself a really nice used manual mill (Bridgeport for example) and you can do a hell of a lot of custom parts on those.