Note to New Members ×

Head Stratos Pro fit

Jules

Wise carvers,

I realize that with this message I am adding *yet another* boot fitting advice request thread to the extant rash of similar requests in recent days, but here goes anyway...

I am new to alpine snowboarding and skiboarding, a refugee from the world of alpine skiing which has lost much of its interest for me over the years. I am really excited to get going in these two new sports, but in the past, the fitting of ski boots has been a rather considerable problem for me. I have moderately wide, high-volume feet and so selecting boots has consistently been a battle against torture of both the too-large and too-small varieties.

Having done some research in assessing the field of available hard-shell snowboard boots, the Head Stratos Pros with their highly-adjustable buckles and more bulbous shape seemed like they might provide my best chance for fitting success (while also seeming to be quite swanky to boot....*rimshot*). Given that hard-shell snowboard boots are few and far between retail-wise in my neck of the woods (SF Peninsula), I decided to take a calculated risk and based on measurements combined with past fitting experience, purchased a pair of the Stratos Pros from Bomberonline. They arrived promptly, as forecasted, this past Friday.

The larger of my two feet measures 26.51 cm without socks and 27.15 cm with my mid-thickness cushioned ski socks on (which are a step of thickness above my very thin pair). My arches are definitely *not* flat, though they are not high enough to be considered "high" either. Of all the footbeds for many different types of footwear that I have tried over the years, the one that I have found to be nearest to perfect is the "regular" width, European size 41 Birkenstock bed. In the past I've skied with boots ranging from size 26 to 28.