Note to New Members ×

Intec vs Standard

John E

It seems almost certain that this has been discussed before but I couldn't find a comparison.

What are the advantages / disadvantages of Intec vs standard bindings? It's clear to me that the Intecs are more convenient but there must be downsides to Intecs as well.

i have ridden both types. the problem i have with the bails is that once, while standing up i was in a weird position and felt my knee pop. the next season i got step ins. the problem i have with step ins i have had with cateks and td2's. sometimes i just can not get locked in on my rear foot. i have tried all the tricks, butter, rocking my boot but nothing seems to help.

also, it is easier to get into bails when in a area you cant lay the board level for whatever reason.

john

OK I'm a definite novice with stepins but even with 20 or so days of riding with them I doubt I will ever go back to standards willingly...it's just easier. I can step in nearly anyplace as long as I set my toe bail before I leave the chair.

I prefer bails for the added flex, hate the fact that some times I rip heels off boots.

I like intecs convenance but just like the ride of bails more.

I like John have grown angry when out on the snow I cant step into intec or even worse have a cable break while in the boot. I really looked like a tool walking back to the shop in one boot on one on the board.

Any one out there ever break a toe bail on step ins??

This has been discussed a thousand times but what the hell, let's do it again. It beats the hostility of some of the other threads.

I've been back and forth between standard and step in over the last 5 years.

One thing with Intec is you seem to get a more secure fit. You jam your toe in and lock the pins and you are rock solid.