Note to New Members ×

1st longboard

Louis

Hi guys, i've been snowboarding for 10 years or so (carving about 6-7 years)

I want to take the fun on the streets, i never owned a skateboard.. So im unsure about it.. what would you recommend me ?

I want something fun that can move me around town basically..

Thx.

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I've had 6 or so of my friends get into longboarding since I started. Most of them who have never skateboarded before have found it easier to start on a dropped deck (ex: landyachtz evo) or dropthrough deck (ex: insect lightning bug). Have you skated before? you said you've never owned a board, but have you used one? My personal favorite is my Insect Lightning Bug. It's good for going really fast, pushing around town, and carving up hills. It's not too heavy, and you can choose how stiff you want it because they are made to order.

If you do get into it, don't be surprised if you start getting more boards. There are SO many different styles for different things. I started off with 1 and somehow now have 9.

So, yes you should try it. Look at the Lightning Bug if you don't mind spending a bit more, or if you're in the states, check out Mile High Skates online and email Mark the owner and he would probably be able to set you up with something for a good price that would suit you.

nothing wrong with Loaded boards well other than the cost...but you get what you pay for and in the case of Loaded boards you are getting a well made board with good parts/hardware. As was stated above Mile High Mark is a good source for info and equipment....his nickname is "the board whisperer" and its a title that is well earned. There are also a number of skate geeks here you can ask about things

• 1 month later...