Note to New Members ×

Advice on a 1st board?

fluxgame

I've been hankering to try out hardbooting for a couple years now and just found an alpine board on my local Craigslist for pretty cheap. Just wondering if you guys could give me some feedback on it:

http://worcester.craigslist.org/spo/446525153.html

For reference, I'm 5'9", 120 lbs. I come from a background in skiing, but have been skiboarding for 5-ish years now. I ride with Raichle hardboots and Bomber's skiboard bindings, so I figure it's sort of a natural transition. And $90 for a board and bindings seems manageable. I know the bindings aren't great, but they'll get me going right? Anyway, thanks for any advice.

http://www.bomberonline.com/articles/welcome_center.cfm

IMO that board is too small, BUT for $90 it'll give you a feel for what its like to carve

don't be a cheapskate though...think about it.

I'd say get something 170ish just for the speed handling capabilities. You're not heavy but you're fairly tall for your weight and therefore have a higher center of gravity that a somewhat longer board will support.

He's only 120 pounds, are you sure a 160 is too small? I started out on what looks like a similar board (Burton Coil) 165, but I weigh 180. It wasn't a bad size to start carving on. The shorter boards seem to force me to use good technique (which I've since lost after moving to longer boards).

Hey Fluxgame, funny coincidence, I was reading your posts today about the B-17N over on bikeforums. Is it still working out OK?

I'd dig out and read the specs for that board. I've never ridden one. The bindings look way old to me; I think I had some of those. I'm not sure I'd want to ride on them now.