Note to New Members ×

Looking for an all-mountain board

John Bell

Hi, everybody. I just registered and am looking to get started in alpine carving. I really, really want to keep my soft (but stiff) boots and use conventional bindings, both for comfort and economy reasons. (RJ at Exotic Boards told me the Europeans do this.)

To be honest, I'm not really sure what I should be looking for in a board. But Carver's Almanac says an all-mountain board is best to start on, so I figure I should probably take that advice. I'm never going to race; I just want to lay down some curves--and yet not sink in the powder.

I've been riding for 10 years and am fairly advanced; I've done the double-blacks off the ridge at Loveland with no problem, as well as Superstar at Killington. I weigh 170 and wear size 10 boots. Needless to say, no park or pipe ever.

If anyone has a new board they're selling, please e-mail me. Or even if you just have general thoughts or advice, I'm all ears.

I'm in NYC but also make trips to DC quite often--so if I could buy a board from someone on the East Coast, that would be ideal.

Thanks!

--John

Welcome to BOL.

As BlueB said, on softies you will need to ride wider boards than most of the AM alpine decks. A lot of people mention the Prior ATV as a great hardboot / softboot board. A BX board might also be great for you.

While adding a pair of hardboots and bindings will certainly add cost, my hardboots are wonderfully comfortable. Unless you walk around on hard surfaces a lot, comfort is not an issue.

You can probably do a search for "soft boot boards", or something like that and find some previously posted info. Likewise, you could also post in the main forum looking for opinions. I expect you will find some helpful people there that might overlook this in the WTB section.

Good luck, Buell