Note to New Members ×

What angles do you ride on your soft boot board?

waypastfast

So i have been riding my alpine setup for the last 16 years at least and i am thinking of getting a soft boot board just to play around on and maybe do some powder days. SO seeing as how i haven't ridden anything but apline angles i am wondering what you guys out there tend to ride when you do ride your soft boot board? And any suggestions on where i should start. Thanks!

Man, I feel wierd runnin my 7 and 0. But I don't really carve with that. If I do I toe and heel out like mad. I'll do a little jibbing like that and that's prettymuch my bumps and off piste board. I'd like to do a little more off piste with my hardboard, so we'll see how that goes.

you need to have clearance and control period.

The right angle is whichever one puts your heels and toes on the edges without overhang.

higher angles can be done but you will burn out the back leg faster and sacrifice control at lower speeds.

lower angles will lead to over steering and boot out.

So the answer is that it is different for every board you ride.:D

Put them at any angle and someone will say that that is where they go! :biggthump

For softboots, my angles change quite a bit depending on what I am doing and what board I am riding. Toe and heel overhang are something to consider, but soft bindings (with highbacks) are not designed to be run at too high of angles, so you cannot usually eliminate it. Some people use riser plates since booting out on a great turn is quite frustrating.

I found as my technique evolves, different angles feel better or worse, so I am always trying different angles. Luckily softboot bindings are pretty easy to move.

Have fun experimenting!