Note to New Members ×

need advice, possibly switching to a soft setup

Guest AllMountain

Guest AllMountain

hi folks. i need some basic advice; would really appreciate your insights.

i've been riding for 8 yrs, about 10-15 days per year. i've owned carving gear for a few yrs now, and had some very good instruction, but have just not been able to put the time in to become proficient. i had a couple of seasons cut short by injuries, and now i'm wanting to maximize time riding with my daughters (who are skiers), while they still want to hang out with their dad :biggthump . when i go with the kids, they want to explore, take a fast run on a groomer, then a bumpy tree run, then the steepest deepest powder they can find, etc. i have a great time, but i can't manage it in my carving gear. i feel i have a decent understanding of technique, i know how to "feel the carve", and i can do it under ideal conditions, but i'm still at the beginner stage as a carver. i find my carving setup tortuous in the bumpy tree runs, and i'm not likely to get much opportunity to master it in the next year or 2. i can easily go anywhere in my soft setup, but it's very flexy and sloppy for carving.

so i'm shopping for some new gear. priority #1 is, given my ability, handling all conditions easily without switching between multiple boards. none of us are into terrain park stuff, so jumping & tricks can be left out of the equation. priority #2 is the ability to work on improving my carving whenever we're on groomers.

i'm 6' tall, 205 lbs, size 12 to 13 feet. i currently own 2 setups. the soft setup i started out with is a K2 spitfire wide, with K2 clicker highback bindings and K2 firebird HB boots, size us 13 / ??? 47 / 30 cm. these boots make good rigid connections at the heel and toe, but are pretty soft and have packed out a bit. the board is 161 length / 27.1 waist, and my angles are 30/15 with a bit of overhang. this setup weighs 20 lbs.