Note to New Members ×

I hit "The Mother Road"

Chubz

Best weekend in a while.

I drove home this past weekend for my 20th year highschool reunion, yea I'm getting old, but young at heart. Great time buried some hatchets, yucked it up. Got hungover

Leading up to the reunion, kept telling one of my old football teammates, Mark Franklin, I was going to downhill, Penn View......on my skateboard. He said I was crazy and it couldnt done. This is coming from a decorated marine who has seen his share of action in the first gulf war.

I had been eye-ing this hill since being a kid (30 years), but never did it due to lack of kahoneys (sp?)

Driving in on Saturday afternoon (first time back in the area in years), to my suprise all of the old roadway was moved and a paving crew was kind enough to provide what you see below. Good thing they were a little behind schedule, because right lane was still closed with barrels.

Proceeded to the top on Sunday with my friend in tow for a chase car, thanks again Mark. Geared up an went. Cant even described how great of a hill it was. Cant get it out of my head. Crazy thing is, is that there is another 6-7 hills eastbound similar to it in a 30 mile stretch.(double that if you go westbound).

The cherry on top is I did it on a board I built.

Top Speed 42 MPH- I stopped about 200 yards into it b/c I was building way too much speed and wasnt sure how the rest of the hill would play out. Cruised then tucked the bottom 2.75 miles until legs cramped

Average Speed -~ 39 MPH

Speed thru the Radar Sign- 39 MPH

Road Hazards- One tiny acorn I could see from about 50 yards out and cars gawking as they slowly drove by me.

Total Mileage- 3 miles with 2.5 at 6% grade.

Smooth as a bowling alley.

Did it the day before my 38th birthday

Heading back in the Fall to claim as many first descents I can in this stretch.

post-1008-141842234825_thumb.jpg

post-1008-141842234827_thumb.jpg

JBS