Note to New Members ×

4th of July

patmoore

My wife suggested that we attend an outdoor concert in Simsbury, CT tonight. We're still here and I'm typing this on my smartphone during intermission. A short time ago the band played tributes to veterans of all branches of the armed forces. When music was played for each branch, respective veterans were asked to stand. Among the thousands of concertgoers a surprisingly small number of us stood.

I have to admit that I got a little choked up. It's been 37 years since my discharge but it was nice to be recognized by a very appreciative audience.

Pat Moore

Sgt USAF 1966-70

There are veterans and then there are Veterans. I'm a vet (US Army Security Agency) 1970-1974, but all of my overseas duty was in Germany programming computers in air conditioned comfort. Most of the time it was a 9 to 5 job with weekends free for skiing (snowboarding not invented yet) in the Alps. The closest I came to harm was when the Baader Meinhoff gang bombed the IG Farben building in Frankfurt. I was running late that day - if I had been on time I would have been going through the front doors when the bomb went off.

I had a pretty easy time of it, so I feel a bit sheepish standing up with the real Veterans who were in harms way.

Dave, it takes a team to make it all work and I appreciate every last one on that team.

Thank You Vets

now, i'm going to go and play for the next four days, this makes me even more appreciative that I have the opprotunity to do this.

Pat,

I totally agree with you. It is great when folks recognize Vets. I was in 1976-79 and served with the Army Rangers my full tour. I remember how we were ordered NOT to wear our uniform when we flew from the air base we were living on because people at the time were so negative toward the military. So any sign of respect, from my perspective is a great thing.