Note to New Members ×

New Board Suggestions

Guest scaryfastandrew

Guest scaryfastandrew

HI, I am pretty new to carving and have never owned a carving board before, wanted some suggestions. This will be my only Board due to poor college student syndrom. So i will most likely want an All mountain. I am 156 pounds and 6' tall. I have been looking at getting the Donek Axxess for a board. Probably 167 or 172 cm length. I am also not sure on what size i should get. Any suggestions or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, andrew

guessing you ride aspen I'd say you'll want the extra length of the 172 pretty quick - especially if you get into powder. I'd even consider a 177.

Your other all-mountain options are Prior 4wd or ATV, Coiler AM (if you've got a few months to wait), or you can go with a longer bx-type board...

The Axis 172 was my first modern carver and I highly reccomend it.

I also recommend the Axxess. Depending on how you ride and how fast you learn, as Tex said, the 177 might be a good bet. I am 145 and find the 172 very turny on the groomers. If it were my only board, I would want it longer. If you spend a lot of time on the Axxess in the trees, the 172 might be a better bet, or you might look at the Prior 4WD (easier to ride off trail).

If I was going to only have ONE board Im not even sure it would be an "alpine" board.

If it was going to be an alpine board, it would be a lean toward the Prior AWD or ATV. I have a custom AWD with a 23cm waist and that thing rules in ALL conditions (except ice. I drink hot cocoa when it's icy so Im not sure)

so...this "AWD" is likely actually an "ATV" and RULES. Its a 182 though...a tad bit tight in trees.

Andrew,