Note to New Members ×

What board for this style?

Guest srale

Hi!

I'm new here..

I've been snowbording for over 10 years and now I'd like to get a new snowboard.

Since I don't have any good photos of myself, I'll attach those two photos to try to describe the style I'm shooting for.

I found those photos on alpinecarving.com, so maybe some guys from this forum recognise themselves on those photos :o

So, what boards would you suggest for that, quite angulated style?

Thanks for your help

post-3553-141842222127_thumb.jpg

well the top looks like a WCR and the bottom looks like a Coiler though which one is anyone's guess. I've had good luck with my Coiler RC175 but just about any of the more race oriented boards...then again either the Donek or the Coiler FC boards would do that as well

At the risk of being pounced on for acting too snooty and elitist...

You can do anything with any board. I ride a Coiler 184PRII for freeride purposes, but it's also my daily slider. I second what was said above though, the top looks like a WCR and the bottom one looks like any colier, or possibly a race-stock burton from a few years ago, or any other board with a black base ;) . Good luck in your quest for the carve.

Edit: after closer review of the photos, they both look to be fairly racey turns, so a race board would serve BEST (not only, but most effeciently) to make that style of turn.

An alpine board, or possibly a really stiff BX deck.

There's a fair number of alpine boards available, depending on how much money you want to spend / can afford to spend; you're going to need not just a board but bindings and boots as well, because you're going too find it very hard to get anywhere near the photos posted in softies. Unless you're falling over, of course, and I've yet to see anyone in softies fall over with as much style as that :)