Note to New Members ×

Slalom Boards

No.2

I have never ridden a board longer than 167cm. I have been riding for over 13 years on hardboots. For most of them I was on a 160cm board. Then tow or three years ago the new board became a 6.7. I am 6ft tall, and weigh anywhere between 175-180 pds. I have no problems riding as hard as I need to with this length of board and love every minute of it. Large boards seem like a waste to me.

One of my favorite all around boards (although, I would like to try a Coiler or F2 166 for comparison).

I have the RT SL 163 with the Tiger head and the glowing red eye on the tail. I ride it pretty much everywhere and this will be the second season on it. It is just awesome for thight, laid down turns. Before that I rode a Burton FP 164 for about four season.

- Thomas

Hot Blast 160SL here. The way it turns you would have to be _very_ quick to get any eurocarving in on it, but other than that it is, indeed, a blast. For most riding, especially if there's a good few people about, I prefer it to a GS board.

Simon

two of my daily riders are SL boards. I have a FP157 and a Speed 160. I ride these since I ride a smaller mountain. The Speed cant take petty much anything thrown at it but the FP is a perfect groomer board only..I love them both since I can turn on a dime to get out of anybody's way

I'm sure that they're fun Jack. I guess the main reason I never looked into giving a longer board a go is the fact that most of the time I am riding a hill and not a mountain.

I also find that I can change the types of turns from tight slalom to as large of a radius I want with a board in the 160 to 170 range. The board is nice and light and you can pull it through a turn and really drive it. I would think with a longer board you would be more contained to making a larger arcing turn, and on some of those monsters out there, 180's and up, I would think the board is driving you more than vise/versa.