Tfr57

First time alpine setup

I have been looking to get an alpine board for racing but have no clue what their about. I came up with a setup, donek pilot, deluxe track 325, f2 carve rs. And was wondering if it would work out for me. Keep in mind I’m a sophomore in high school. Thanks

Just now, Tfr57 said:

Keep in mind I’m a sophomore in high school.

Is this to suggest a financial limitation or to suggest that you'll be growing and want something to grow into? Or perhaps something else?

Just now, Tfr57 said:

what their about.

Study is more important than snowboarding.

Edited by daveo
  • Haha 1

I would also add, how long have you been hardbooting as well? 

The first year is fun and scary. If you go to Nationals, your biggest hurdle firt year is actually yourself, as nerves get you (even though they should not and everyone is awesome there). 

I guess to answer your question, the answer depends on what level a rider you are at, and what your goals are.

6 hours ago, Tfr57 said:

I have been looking to get an alpine board for racing but have no clue what their about. I came up with a setup, donek pilot, deluxe track 325, f2 carve rs. And was wondering if it would work out for me. Keep in mind I’m a sophomore in high school. Thanks

Welcome Tfr!  The very first step in this journey is to be able to really carve your existing gear.  Can you change edges before the board points downhill and ride the sidecut around?  There are some tech articles here at alpinesnowboarder.com.  Let's assume you can or will soon, next you need alpine gear.