Note to New Members ×

The bottom line

1xsculler

If I can’t learn to do this I won’t be able to call myself a carver. I mean, what else is there? I’m not interested in extreme carving, race carving, deep pow or soft boot carving just plain, hard core, down and dirty pencil line free carving on groomers. That’s all I have enough B-days left for  

I thought I had a good heelside of Corey but I guess I don’t. 

(Larry's pic deleted at his request)

85F877C1-974D-4C44-93F3-1B018F99C02D.jpeg

@1xsculler you are setting yourself up for failure with that attitude.  Reading your post bummed me out.  You should try to look at this as a journey and enjoy this ride.  Don’t you have fun getting out there and improving each and every time?  I know I do.  I’ve been carving in hardboots since 1990 and have several pictures of myself similar to the ones you referenced.  However, I still aim to get better on every turn.  That’s one of the things that I love about carving - the constant over analysis of my and other’s riding.  The technical side of the sport is what keeps us all here on this forum in summer talking about it.

2 hours ago, 1xsculler said:

I mean, what else is there?

Enjoy your time on the hill, think about it on the way home, think about it as you fall asleep, talk about it with all of us here, obsess over new gear, enjoy pictures of others who ride like you want to.  These are all great examples of what else there is.....

A journey for sure and yes, I try to improve each and every time I go out and I enjoy doing it very much. I am obsessed with it. That first pic is the wallpaper on my phone and on my watch so I see it constantly and I tell myself, “Bob, you gotta get your knees within 12” of the snow to get your board on edge like that, heel or tie side. ”  I know it will come with lots and lots of turns IF I live long enough. 

46 minutes ago, 1xsculler said:

Had to look steezy  up.

Not all. Not me and my buddy but we’ll get there.