Note to New Members ×

Newbie looking to rip

Switterz314

Hey guys!

My name is Alec and I am new to alpine SB but am fascinated with the sport. I grew up ski racing so I'm familiar with setting an edge but when I came across two guys out ripping at Kirkwood on Friday, I had to redefine what that meant. The lean! The centripetal force generated! And the whole time, these guys were grinning ear to ear. I stopped them to ask a few questions and they pointed me to this forum so I'm here to introduce myself and learn. 

First off, where does one start with trying out gear? I tried calling around to the local rental shops and resorts but did not have any luck. One woman mentioned that the gear is so specialized that most riders hoard their gear - if that is the case, would anyone be willing to let me try out an old setup? I may have to borrow my dad's neon ski gear from the 80's to complete the look but anything would be much appreciated.  

I live in Sacramento and split time between Kirkwood, Heavenly or Northstar depending on conditions/popularity. If anyone is headed that way, drop me a line! I would be happy to carpool. I work off-hours too so I can usually swing a Friday trip. 

Cheers!

Alec Slungaard

715-781-0517

Welcome to the dark side Alec! 

There _used_ to be a Tahoecarvers Facebook group - it might be worth checking out. I don't know if it's still active or not (you have to log in to see it and I'm not on FB), but it was here: http://www.facebook.com/groups/tahoecarvers/?ref=ts

People do tend to have a lot of old gear around, so I expect you will be able to buy or borrow a board and bindings pretty readily. Boots will be the challenge - you might want to post in the Wanting to Buy section with your boot size. As an ex ski racer, I think you will enjoy carving - best of luck getting a setup together!

• 1 month later...