Note to New Members ×

Mountain Slope 951 & zipfit liner

slapos

• 1 month later...

I found that Zipfits are pretty ridgid laterally and good for skiing but not great for hardboot snowboarding.  You do get good heel hold down and lots of toe room but the outsides and insides of my lower legs became very sore and bruised.  I think they defeat the purpose of flexing in hard boots.  Just my $0.02 and worthless.

Neil makes valid points. I am a relative novice and am still trying to get everything figured out.  I have work to do to get down and dirty on my carve but I am confident I have my equipment figured out for now, at least.

I went through numerous shells and messed around with my liners a lot to finally settle on new UPZ RC8 shells, size 28, which are correct for my 28.2 cm feet and Deeluxe 131 liners on which I had to do surgery in the big toe area to finally get great comfort. There was no way to heat-thin the toe area of the liner enough to make room for my very normal sized big toes.

When I first tried Zipfits I thought I had found the perfect liners, i.e. lots of toe room, supposedly moldable while you use them, very well made of durable material, but they made the outsides of my lower legs very sore right at the tops of the liners and I concluded they would be excellent for skiing, where you want lateral stiffness for edge control, but not suitable for hardboot carving for me. 

@slapos keep us updated on how the 951 with zip fits is working. I am trying to get a pair of .951 but I can't get anyone to message me back about them. I guess they are prioritizing racers? I would be in the D shell and my feet are right at 28.5. If anyone has any recommendations I am all ears. My upz are beating up my shins.

On 11/23/2018 at 10:57 PM, slapos said:

I will give them a try anyway. I like stiff and supporting boots so it should be fine.

Thanks for your 0.02